Basic Wardrobe – Tops

As Mr DaVinci once said :

“Simplicity is the ultimate form of sophistication”

And in my opinion, this applies to literally everything. As of late, I have noticed that most people try to complicate their lives/fashion choices/houses in order to make themselves seem more interesting. But in my optic, simplicity stands out when the crowd tries to its hardest to be interesting.

Therefore, these past 6 months I have started to live my life in a “minimalistic” sort of way, starting from my fashion choices. I have had my colourful periods, but I started to prefer neutral themes this past year, which means I get more wear out of clothes since neutrals can be combined any way you want.

So I have made a fashion checklist, where I decided what are the items I have to own; a solid base for my future purchases. I have divided this checklist in 6 : tops, bottoms, dresses, outerwear, accessories and shoes. Let’s start with tops, and in the future weeks/months I will post about the other categories, with a few special ones, like lingerie and fitness apparel.

Tops

I have divided this category in more subcategories.

First, we have bodysuits, a staple in my wardrobe. I find them to be super comfortable, practical and they are usually form fitting, therefore flattering. You can wear them with body con skirts or jeans, or even with joggers. Always on point. You can start by buying two : one black and the other white, with simple necklines. I also recommend getting a long sleeved one.

Here we have a black long-sleeved bodysuit from Tfnc and a white one from Boohoo.
Here we have a black long-sleeved bodysuit from Tfnc and a white one from Boohoo.

Then we have t-shirts. Simple and classic. Again, I recommend getting one black and the other white, but if you can, throw a nude coloured or tan one in the mix, it will come in handy. Try to get them as basic as it gets, not too long, not crop tops either and without weird necklines.

The black one is from Vince. , the tan one from Miss Selfridge and the white one from Weekday.
The black one is from Vince. , the tan one from Miss Selfridge and the white one from Weekday.

You can add some blouses if you want, but they are not really necessary. Maybe just one for more formal or business-like occasions. Again, black or white.

The first one is from Vero Moda and the second one is from Choies.
The first one is from Vero Moda and the second one is from Choies.

One subcategory, which is not really necessary, is crop tops. They are enjoying a lot of popularity as of late, and they are probably going to be around for a while, so if you feel like getting one, go ahead.

The grey one is from Topshop, the white one is from Glamorous.com, the black one is branded River Island and the tan one is from Kookai.
The grey one is from Topshop, the white one is from Glamorous.com, the black one is branded River Island and the tan one is from Kookai.

We can now move on to sweaters. Here you are a bit more free : fitted or loose, turtleneck or v shaped, your choice; any look good.

The black one is a basic turtleneck from Vila at Lipsy, the tan one is from Topshop and the white one is from Goodnight Macaroon
The black one is a basic turtleneck from Vila at Lipsy, the tan one is from Topshop and the white one is from Goodnight Macaroon

This is all for tops.

I will update as soon as possible.

xx

One thought on “Basic Wardrobe – Tops

Leave a Reply

