Basic Wardrobe – Bottoms

This is part 2 of my Basic Wardrobe series, aka a series containing fashion items that I believe to be necessary to build a solid and versatile wardrobe. Consider it to be the solid base to expand your wardrobe around. Last time we talked about tops and now I want to illustrate the bottoms that I think should be in everyone’s closet.

Bottoms

And more precisely

Pants

Let’s start with shorts, the best for hot summer days or to pair up with a pair of thigh high boots and a long coat. They are very versatile and depending on the fabric they are made of, they can be used for everyday life or for more special occasions.

I chose two denim models : they are both from Abercrombie and Fitch, while the third one, a classier model, in navy, is from Pinkqueen.
I chose two denim models : they are both from Abercrombie and Fitch, while the third one, a classier model, in navy, is from Pinkqueen.

Now we move on to typical and classic good old-fashioned jeans, a staple in every wardrobe and probably the most used (and uncomfortable) piece of clothing. I am not even going to lie, I hate wearing jeans, I love leggings and sweatpants, but they look cute.

The black pair is from Newlook and the darkwash pair is from H&M. I think that having two pairs of jeans is a good place to start.
The black pair is from Newlook and the darkwash pair is from H&M. I think that having two pairs of jeans is a good place to start.

I also think that you should have one pair of elegant dress pants, for any kind of occasion. Let’s just say that you will not always want to wear dresses or skirts, so switching to a more masculine item might be fun.

The black pair is from Theory Mitrana and the white pair is from Diane von Furstenberg. They're a little more on the pricey side, but investing in good fabrics is worth it.
The black pair is from Theory Mitrana and the white pair is from Diane von Furstenberg. They’re a little more on the pricey side, but investing in good fabrics is worth it.

Then, let’s move to one of my faves : leggings! Black is the only way to go in my opinion. Any other colour, and I am speaking for myself, does not look that good. They should be like second skin and NOT see-through! I mean it. It is just not cute when you can see Sponge Bob underwear right through them.

Screen Shot 2015-12-05 at 17.24.16
The pair on the left is from River Island and they are high waisted and extra long, while the pair on the right is from Marks and Spencer and they are ankle length.

Next, the most comfortable category of them all…Joggers! I love wearing them, they are so versatile, to the point where you can wear them with Converse or heels, and still look fab. Messy bun, leather jacket and you’re ready to go.

Screen Shot 2015-12-05 at 17.36.00
A grey and a black pair should do. The grey pair is from Zoe Karssen and they are a bit more pricey, while the black pair is from H&M.

Let’s move onto

Skirts

A staple in any woman’s closet; they can be long, midi or short and made of every fabric. Love them.

We can start with midi skirts. I do not particularly like short or denim skirts and I do not consider them basics, so I will skip them, but if you like them, wear them! I think a couple of neutral midi skirts are immensely versatile and can be worn either at the office or on a night out.

Screen Shot 2015-12-05 at 17.49.57
Let’s get started. The ones that I think are essential are the second one (Doublju) and the fifth one (Kookai). The rest are optional : the leather one is a bit more daring but it looks soo good (BeautifulHalo), the army greenish one is third on my list of basics (Thanth), the light peach one is cute, with the slit and all (Maurie Eve Theron) and the white one is a bit more expensive, but white fabrics should be bought for quality (Jonathan Simkhai).

Then we have long skirts, which can be worn, just like the midis, in any kind of way and on any kind of occasion. I tend to wear long skirts more often, simply because I feel like they are easier to accessorise and, if worn during the day, look very casual, a bit more than the midis.

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 23.27.17
The black one is from Lipsy, the grey one is from HouseOfFraser and the white one is from Alice+Olivia. You should expect long skirts to be slightly more expensive, simply because they are made with a lot more fabric.

I think this is it. This was a long post to make, it took me ages. I tried to keep all of the items reasonably priced and I hope I succeeded!

Thank you and see you next time.

xx

One thought on “Basic Wardrobe – Bottoms

Leave a Reply

