Motivation

So this is a very touchy topic. Wether we are talking about work, fitness or social life, we all need some motivation every once in a while. And that motivation rarely comes from outside sources.

I have struggled and I still struggle with being motivated. For example, I know that I could do so so much better in school if I just were more motivated to work hard. But somehow, I give myself reasons to not be motivated and then I get frustrated with myself. It all turns into a vicious circle. The key out of that circle is finding something, an idea, a goal, to cling onto; every time you think of that goal you should get motivated. For me, it’s getting a job that will pay well enough to allow my parents to stop working and live peacefully and debt-free. That is obviously a long term goal, but every great action is built by small habits.

As far as fitness and healthy-living goes, I get very motivated when I watch youtube videos of Crossfit, for example, because that’s what I aspire to do. I also get an adrenaline rush and I crave to go to the gym as soon as I see the Fitness section on Pinterest. I believe that that social network is extremely helpful when it comes to motivating and lifting people up. That, and fashion and beauty, are the only sections I am really interested in on Pinterest, sine I am not much of a DIY kind of person. If you want to follow me, this is the link.

So, as far as tips go, here are my 3 tips :

  • find a goal, wether it is short or long term, it does not matter, just find something to strive towards; it can be next week’s test, a possible promotion or another two pounds off
  • be that person who everyone classifies as a hard worker, someone who is obsessed. This is tightly linked to the tip above : you first set a goal and then you become obsessed with it, just like the MMA fighter, Conor McGregor (follow him, he’s amazing and confident). These two below might just be my favourite quotes of all time.

cf2b70c3d99d4d8da323aa1e7beb9c28

“There’s no talent here, this is hard work. This is an obsession. Talent does not exist, we are all equal as human beings. You could be anyone if you put in the time. You will reach the top, and that [is] that. I am not talented, I am obsessed.”

  • find inspiration, wether it comes from the inside, from people you know or from websites, you should find role models and people who are above you on the ladder of success and you should not look at them with envy, but with admiration and ambition to surpass them.
    That is all I could come up with : very simple and straight to the point.

Stay obsessed.

xx

Leave a Reply

