Beauty haul and reviews from Sicily

As you may or may not know, I went on a trip to Sicily, which was amazing. I loved the art, the nature and all the places we visited. Of course I had to document my trip and you can find it detailed in the following linked posts, as part 1 and part 2.

And as always, I had to buy a couple of beauty items, otherwise it would have been a very sad trip for me (kidding). So let’s jump right into it :

1. Energy Mask from KIKO Cosmetics

I spent months looking for this mask since it was sold out everywhere. It is a detoxifying black mask which you have put on and leave on for 10 to 15 minutes; you then have to rinse it off, since it does not peel off. I tend to use it about twice a week and I love how soft it makes my skin feel afterwards. I do put it everywhere on my face, on the problematic areas, like my nose, cheeks, chin, forehead and on my temples; everywhere I get spots or blackheads. Apparently it is not available anymore on the Italian website, but I was able to find it on the US website, right here.

Score : 9,5/10

2. Compact Powder from Wycon Cosmetics

I bought this powder because the one I had from Rimmel stopped working, as in I used a wet brush on it once and I could not pick anymore product. I got the lightest shade I could find, 01, and I did not have high expectations for this powder; keep in mind that this brand is very similar to KIKO, so it has nice quality products for quite a low price. So I got it and tried it and I was impressed with it. It goes on quite smoothly and it keep my skin matte for the whole day. That might be because I use it in combination with the foundation listed below, which is supposed to be 24H-Mat, but it is great nonetheless. One thing I noticed is that it keeps my under-eye area matte, which is incredible, since that is the area that gets oily the quickest. The packaging is also nice, all black and not too heavy, with a mirror inside.

Score : 9,5/10

3. Brush 210 from Wycon Cosmetics 

I bought this brush since I would apply all my face powders (as in powder, blush, bronzer and highlighter) with the same brush and I decided it was time for a change. This burst is extremely soft, it did not shed any hairs yet and I love the design, all black again. The one thing I do not like about it is that the hairs are too long, so it is not east to control. This brush would be great for loose powders, but for the application of compact powders underneath the eye, for example, I do not recommend it, since it does not pick up a great deal of product. I only use it for the parts of my face that I do not want completely matte, like my cheeks. It is a shame, because the quality is great.

Score : 7/10

4. Infaillible 24H-Mat from L’Oréal 

I am in love with this foundation. I was using the Lumi Magique before this and it was okay for a light to medium coverage foundation, but this one is amazing. I am going to make a more in depth review of this, but all you have to know is that it dries almost completely matte and the coverage is medium to full. Amazing. You can see how smooth it looks in the picture below.

Score : 10/10

5. Honeylove lipstick by MAC 

For last, le pièce de résistance, the most amazing nude lipstick by MAC. I have to admit, this is my first ever purchase from MAC and it was a splurge, since their products are not inexpensive. What I decided, in life as in makeup, is to pick quality over quantity, so I want to have only one nude lipstick at the time, but of good quality (of course there are various hues of nude, so I will one lipstick for every hue). The application is so smooth and the quality is amazing, as well as the packaging. The finish is matte and I am in love.

Score : 10/10

As you can see, it was a great (shopping) trip.

Thank you for reading.

xx

Leave a Reply

