Book Review : Il mare non bagna Napoli

I have been reading this book for the past two months, and despite it having only 176 pages, it was the book I least felt like reading in all my life. I am sorry for having to open up the review with such a bad start, but it is one of those books I just did not enjoy.

Roughly translated, the title in English would be “The sea does not bathe Naples”, but since I could not find the English correspondent online, I believe it was not translated. This book, written by Anna Maria Ortese is a collection of short stories depicting post-WWII Naples. There are some stories I liked more than others, those being the shortest. The problem is that the biggest story in the book talks about real authors and journalists from that era in Naples, but having not studying said era, I initially thought that they were fictional.

If you speak Italian and you like books which are 95% descriptive and not 100% clear, then this is a book for you. The problem I found with this book is that it did not flow : I was actually counting the pages until the end. Had I not had to read it for school, I never would have picked it up.

It depicts a very sad and hopeless landscape, where people have no hope for the better and everything is rough instead of smooth.

Score : 2/10

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

