Book Review – The day of the owl

I never thought I would be one to say this, but I actually enjoyed this book. I was and still am surprised at how well it flowed and how well it was generally written.

This book, by Leonardo Sciascia, is a very famous crime novel about the mafia written in Italian. The original title is “Il giorno della civetta” and it is around 110 pages long. The action starts right in the first pages, when a murder is committed in broad daylight at a bus stop in a Sicilian town. A certain captain, Bellodi, who is a northerner from Parma, is called to investigate and he already has an idea in his mind that this murder, along with a couple more which will happen further in the book, has been committed by the mafia or its associates.

There are no chapters in this book, only small pauses and brief changes of point of view : on one side we have the point of view of the captain and his subordinates, while on the other side we have the criminals’, which is usually narrated with only direct dialogue and no interference on the author’s side.

The main action is concentrated in one single day, so the book itself is quite fast paced. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read about the mafia and understand its basis. This novel was written back when nobody knew what the mafia was, who the mafia was or if it even existed.

I must admit that the crime novel is not my favourite type of read, but this book I quite enjoyed and I read it in a day. I did not find it boring at all, despite being an assignment from school, and I must say that if you really want to do any sort of research about the mafia, this is where your research must start.

Score : 8,5/10

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

