Book Review : Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I finally got the chance to buy this book and I read it on my way back from Australia; I finished it right before landing in Rome. I wanted to get my hands on it ever since it came out, but I wanted it in English, not Italian, so this was my chance. I bought it at a duty free shop in Brisbane Airport.

img_6714

So, as you might already know, this is not an actual book as much as it is the screenplay used for the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play that everybody has been going crazy over this past year.

The plot picks up 19 years later, right where the last film ended. We have a new set of characters, some of whom get introduced in this book anew. You will immediately notice that time and action move very quickly and that the whole dynamic has changed. Harry is now a father dealing with a son he does not understand, Hermione is juggling being a mother while also being Minister of Magic and Professor McGonagall, well, she keeps dealing with insane students.

I will not give anything away, since it is a very interesting book and it keeps, despite the new characters, giving us a glimpse into the world be all know and love. It does really feel like being back at Hogwarts, but from a different perspective. Humour is very present and I actually found myself laughing more than twice at certain passages (hint: Ron was always present).

img_6717

Unfortunately, there is one aspect I did not like of the book, not because it was unpleasant, but because it did not convince me. You will understand what I am saying if and when you read the book, since it is a pretty big part of it. Being used to JK Rowling’s writing, who only revealed the mysteries of the series in the last book, coming face to face with such an important event without it being accurately premeditated sort of left me hanging.

All in all, I am very glad I am part of this world again and I loved every single page. It was a pretty fast read and I do whole-heartedly recommend it.

Score: 9/10

Thank you for reading.

xx

3 thoughts on “Book Review : Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Love the Harry Potter books and films ! Also I’ve been to watch the play ( AMAZING ) luckily . I’ve got the same book as well ! More HP posts please !!!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Like

Leave a Reply

